To Spend Or Not To Spend!

To spend or not to spend is my question….  So a few months ago my mother gave me a gift card to Charlotte Russe.  I put the card away and it wasn’t something that I felt the need to go right to the store and spend it. Honestly I was excited about getting the gift card but that was the extent of the excitement. lol So anyway I was out yesterday running some errands and I saw the gift card and I said to myself I better spend it before it’s too late. So my youngest and I go to the mall and of course spend a few minutes trying to find the store. I go in and I look around and the first thing I think to myself is what in the world do I need or want.  Of course all women love to shop and I love getting new clothes and shoes. But for some reason nothing was really appealing. I spent maybe ten minutes just kind of going over what all was in the store. I wasn’t really impressed with their clothing so I didn’t even bother to get close to one clothing item. Then I moved on to where the jewelery was. There was a lot of it and either I wasn’t in the mood for anything or I just didn’t feel right buying anything for myself. So I walked around and saw a really nice watch. I looked at it, picked up, set it down, picked it up again and finally said you know what I really do not need it.  I have the time on my phone and I always have my phone on me. So then I went back to the jewelery and this time I did see one pair of earrings that would be nice to wear at work. So I picked them up and held on to them. Then I moved onto the hair accessories. Again they were all nice but by this time I had already been in the store over a half an hour trying to figure out what in the world I was going to spend this gift card on and I was having a hard time as to what to get.  I went over to the shoes and looked at them all and there really wasn’t anything that I needed or none that really caught my eye. So now on the section near the register of nicknacks.   I find a glitter like roll on pen and I think okay I can use this for the kids for Halloween costumes so I pick it up. Then I rummage through more and nothing, then I look at the jewelery on the counter and I see a little headband tiara so I think okay this will work with Braelyn’s ( my youngest) costume so I grab that. Then I am like hmm what in the world am I going to get, so I go to all the jewelery again and nothing then back to the headbands and finally I see a 2 pack that would be cute for Alana (my oldest daughter) so I get them for her. Then as I am back at the register and I smell all the perfume and I didn’t care for any of those either. So I see a ring pop and I grab it for Braelyn since she was there with me. I go to check out and after almost an hour in the store I was able to spend the gift card and owed $0.20. So I was happy one because I actually was able to find enough to use the gift card on and so ready to just leave after all that time being there. lol Anyways my point is when I have money and we are at the store and my husband always says get yourself something I never do, I always do for my children or my husband. And when I had the chance to get myself something nice I just couldn’t do it, I was actually very happy with just the one lil pair of earrings I found.  There are times I feel terrible for even buying myself stuff, so Id rather just spend it on my family and friends. Id rather spend for others then to spend on myself. Have any of you ever felt that way?

From my heart n mind,         ❤ me!

Leave a comment